top of page

Upscale and uprooted

My first experience working with my professional organizing business was a vast awakening. I was taken to an upscale neighborhood in Montclair, New Jersey to a house with a phenomenal view of New York City, New York. This client differed from what I assumed my boss and I would be doing. Professional organizing by trade has many different sides to it. One can opt to stick with upscale clients that would prefer to hire someone to organize their home and belongings, hoarders who need the professional help sorting out their possessions, or a mixture of both. The company I work for does both. My boss tackles all types of jobs. Many professional organizers tend to stick with middle to upscale clients as they require less time, work, and resources.

While this client was categorized as upscale, it still entailed a lot of work. Breaking down boxes, moving heavy objects, and working in an attack deprived of fresh air was what most of my day consisted of. I only got to show my boss what I'm really made of when she left for a short time to retrieve more plastic bins from a nearby store and left me in charge of organizing the daughters arts and crafts room. My boss told me to leave everything out for her and I to go through together when she returned, however, I had finished everything sooner than I had thought, prompting me to continue without her. Upon her return she examined my work and nodded her head in approval of my independent work and skill I had been telling her about for years. While it wasn't a walk in the park, it gave me a new respect for my boss and any professional organizer out there.

bottom of page