top of page

Down the rabbit hole

My second experience working with the professional organizing company I am a team member of opened my eyes to a distinct aspect of professional organizing. My first blog post mentions that many professional organizers prefer to remain loyal to upscale clients because of the amount of time and resources put into de-cluttering homes belonging to hoarders or those with hoarding tendencies. I figured out why many do not want to be bothered with this type of client. My second encounter with this line of work was with a client who is titled as a hoarder. My boss had been to her home two years prior and did the works. The clients home was floor to ceiling with items that required trucks to remove. The client was in danger of being evicted as her home, garage, and basement located adjacent and below her townhouse were filled from floor to ceiling. During my visit her home it was still very clear, however, while organized, her basement and garage were still top to bottom with belongings that my boss loved referring to as "useless."

That day it was our job to move items from the basement of her sister to her basement and garage. The task was overwhelming and stressful as I learn that hoarders are more particular about their belongings than I had anticipated. I correlated the experience to my boss as looking down a rabbit hole that sees empty until you notice the multitude of baby rabbits at the end. When we had finish our job, the client was please with the work we had done and while there was still a lot of work to be done with this particular client, things were still much better for her than they had be. I was not expecting the workload to be as hard as it was and I never underestimated working with hoarders after that experience.

bottom of page